default

Diversity & Inclusion in our Workforce

A diverse and inclusive working environment composed of colleagues from various backgrounds is an important success factor for Bär & Karrer. We are firmly committed to fostering an open and tolerant culture that empowers everyone at Bär & Karrer to be themselves at work and brings out the best from everyone. We see it as our social responsibility to promote and focus on the topic of D&I.

Our hiring process is focusing on attracting and retaining the best talents regardless of gender, race, origin, language, age, sexual orientation or religious belief.

We strive for a balanced workforce and a working attitude where collaboration is key. The entire Bär & Karrer team embraces our diversity and inclusion journey.

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

Actions speak louder than words

0
Employees
0
Lawyers
0
% of our employees are women
0
% in our extended executive board are women
0
average age
0
% of our women are in a leading position
0
% of our employees working part-time
0
employees who are physically challenged

Diversity is Key

Client need

D&I is needed to best meet the different client needs in order to speak the same language.

Employer attractiveness

Satisfied employees remain loyal to the company.

Diversity is diverse

Diversity has many aspects. It is not only about gender.

innovation

Diverse teams are highly engaged and deliver innovative solutions.

  • In-house childcare facility

    Bär & Karrer offers an in-house childcare facility where our employees benefit from favourable conditions to support balancing family and career. Furthermore, Bär & Karrer is a member of profawo whose consultancy on topics such as guidance for young parents, childcare or placement of nannies is free of charge for staff members.

  • Parental Leave Program

    We are granting paid paternity leave of a total of 15 working days. Expectant mothers are entitled to go on leave four weeks prior to the calculated date of childbirth. The purpose of this leave is to ease the burden during the last month of pregnancy. We would like our female employees to remain employed with us after childbirth. Employees who worked for Bär & Karrer for at least two years prior to childbirth and who undertake to continue to work for us after their maternity leave for at least another two years are entitled to additional benefits beyond the statutory minimum.

  • Friendly Workspace

    Friendly Work Space sets the Swiss quality standard for systematically implemented company health management (BGM). We are very pleased to have achieved this label.

  • Flexible working

    The compatibility of work and family requires flexible working time models. This way we can ensure that women and also men can reconcile their legal profession with parenthood in the long term. However, working part-time does not mean that your career ends up on the sidelines and therefore isn't an obstacle to being promoted. Home office is another important component of working time flexibilization at Bär & Karrer and gives our employees more flexibility in organizing their day.

Female Leadership

  • D&I Network

    Launched in 2009 as a women's network, it initially included meetings and lunches for female lawyers at different stages of their career at Bär & Karrer to network, provide career advice and obtain feedback. Today, the network is open to everyone at Bär & Karrer and has shifted its focus to diversity and inclusion in the broader sense.

  • Advance Member

    Bär & Karrer is a member of "Advance – Gender Equality in Business", an association of close to 100 Swiss-based companies with the mission to achieve a balanced gender mix at all levels of an organization on an ongoing basis.

  • Female Leadership Program

    The goal of our Female Leadership Program is to offer high-performing women with the potential to take on the role of partner targeted support in various aspects, such as recognizing and eliminating doubts, uncertainties and personally perceived hurdles, addressing personal aspirations as well as the necessary requirements for the next career step. We want to uncover, activate and use their own resources and strengths. It is about accompanying personality and career development as well as supporting the processing of concrete concerns. We carry out these measures in cooperation with psychologists and coaches and work with diagnostics, executive coachings and workshops.

Female Partners

Female Partners in Full Service Law Firms

We have committed to ensuring that women are represented and supported at all levels of the Firm. Currently, we are the leading full service law firm in Switzerland which has the hightest percentage female partners.

Pro Bono Work

Bär & Karrer and its employees live up to their social responsibility in various ways. In particular, we have numerous personal and firm-wide engagements for charitable or not-for-profit organizations, as well as a long-standing tradition of providing our legal services on a case-by-case basis free of charge – i.e. pro bono – if it serves a good cause. Below are just some of the activities.

  • Room to Read

    Bär & Karrer has been supporting Room to Read for many years. They seek to transform the lives of millions of children in low-income communities by focusing on literacy and gender equality in education. Working in collaboration with local communities, partner organizations and governments, the foundation aids in developing literacy skills and in implementing the habit of reading among primary school children, and supports girls to complete secondary school to learn skills that are essential to succeed in further education and life. With our support we hope to contribute to better education for children, and for girls in particular.

  • Jerusalem Foundation

    The Jerusalem Foundation aims to bring the diverse population of the city of Jerusalem closer together through various projects mainly in the education and culture sector, also with a strong focus of enhancing career opportunities for girls and women through school and university education but also by supporting the integration on the labor market for young professionals and older women. One of our female partners is a member of the Swiss regional board of the Jerusalem Foundation.

  • Menschen für Menschen

    One of our female partners and member of our executive committee serves on the Board of Menschen für Menschen Switzerland, a foundation that amongst others runs vocational trainings for women in Ethiopia, giving them the opportunity to make a living for themselves.

  • Weizmann Institute of Science

    The Weizmann Institute scientists have developed new ways of fighting disease and hunger, protecting the environment and harnessing alternative energy solutions. One of our partners serves on the Weizmann Institute’s Executive Board and as Chair of the Swiss Society of Friends of the Institute. He has also played a prominent role in raising support for the Swiss Society Institute for Cancer Prevention Research at the Moross Integrated Cancer Center.

Ongoing Empowerment of Women in Partnership

Percentage of Female Partners at Bär & Karrer in recent years

default

La diversité et l’inclusion au sein de notre personnel

Un environnement de travail divers et inclusif, comprenant des collègues issus de parcours variés, est un facteur de succès important pour Bär & Karrer. Il nous tient à cœur d’établir une culture d’ouverture et de tolérance qui permette à tout un chacun chez Bär & Karrer d’être lui-même au travail et d’exprimer au mieux ses talents. Nous estimons que le soutien et la mise en œuvre d’une politique de D&I relève de notre responsabilité sociale.

Notre philosophie du recrutement consiste à attirer et conserver les professionnels les plus doués, sans égard au sexe, à l’ethnicité, à l’origine, à la langue, à l’orientation sexuelle ou aux convictions religieuses.

Nous nous efforçons d’avoir un bon équilibre dans le personnel et une attitude de travail fondée sur la collaboration. Toute l’équipe Bär & Karrer souscrit à notre philosophie de diversité et d’inclusion.

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

Des paroles aux actes

0
COLLABORATRICES ET COLLABORATEURS
0
AVOCAT-E-S
0
% DE FEMMES
0
% DE LA DIRECTION ÉLARGIE SONT DES FEMMES
0
ANS D’ÂGE MOYEN
0
% DES FEMMES DE L’ÉTUDE OCCUPENT UNE FONCTION DIRIGEANTE
0
% DU PERSONNEL TRAVAILLE À TEMPS PARTIEL
0
COLLABORATRICES/COLLABORATEURS EN SITUATION DE HANDICAP

La diversité est variée

Dans l'intérêt du client

A D&I EST INDISPENSABLE POUR COMPRENDRE DE PRÈS LES BESOINS DU CLIENT ET Y RÉPONDRE AU MIEUX

ATTRACTIVITÉ DE L’EMPLOYEUR

LES COLLABORATEURS SATISFAITS RESTENT FIDÈLES À L’ENTREPRISE.

LA DIVERSITÉ EST VARIÉE

LA DIVERSITÉ A DE NOMBREUX VISAGES. IL NE S’AGIT PAS QUE DE LA QUESTION DU GENRE.

Innovation

LES ÉQUIPES DIVERSIFIÉES SONT TRÈS ENGAGÉES ET PRODUISENT DES SOLUTIONS INNOVANTES.

  • Service interne de garde d’enfants

    Bär & Karrer propose un service interne de garde d’enfants qui offre aux collaboratrices et collaborateurs des conditions favorables à une bonne conciliation entre famille et carrière. Bär & Karrer est en outre membre de profawo, dont les prestations, notamment les conseils aux jeunes parents, la prise en charge des enfants ou le placement de nurses, sont gratuites pour notre personnel.

  • Congé paternité

    Nous accordons 15 jours ouvrables de congé paternité. Les femmes enceintes peuvent partir en congé quatre semaines avant la date prévue pour l’accouchement, dans le but de rendre le dernier mois de grossesse plus agréable. Nous souhaitons que nos collaboratrices restent au sein de l’étude après leur accouchement. Les femmes qui ont travaillé pour Bär & Karrer pendant au moins deux ans avant l’accouchement et qui s’engagent à poursuivre leur emploi chez nous pendant au moins deux ans au terme de leur congé maternité ont droit à des avantages complémentaires qui dépassent le minimum prescrit par la loi.

  • Friendly Workspace

    Friendly Work Space définit la norme de qualité suisse pour la mise en œuvre systématique de la gestion de la santé en entreprise (GSE). Nous sommes très fiers d’avoir obtenu ce label.

  • Travail flexible

    La compatibilité entre travail et famille exige des modèles de temps de travail flexibles. Offrir cette flexibilité permet aux femmes et aux hommes de concilier leur profession juridique et leur statut de parents sur le long terme. Travailler à temps partiel ne signifie toutefois pas reléguer votre carrière au second plan et n’est donc pas un obstacle à la promotion. Le télétravail est un autre aspect important de la flexibilisation du temps de travail chez Bär & Karrer, permettant ainsi à nos collaborateurs de s’organiser plus librement.

Leadership féminin

  • D&I Network

    Lancé en 2009 en tant que réseau de femmes, le D&I Network comprenait à l’origine des rencontres et des repas pour les avocates à différentes étapes de leur carrière chez Bär & Karrer, afin qu’elles puissent réseauter, donner des conseils en matière de carrière et obtenir du feedback. Aujourd’hui, le réseau est ouvert à tous les membres de Bär & Karrer et s’est réorienté sur la diversité et l’inclusion au sens large.

  • Membre d’Advance

    Bär & Karrer est membre de l’association « Advance – Gender Equality in Business », qui regroupe près de 100 entreprises basées en Suisse et qui a pour but l’égalité systématique des sexes à tous les niveaux d’une organisation.

  • Female Leadership Program

    Notre Female Leadership Program a pour objectif de proposer aux femmes performantes ayant le potentiel de devenir Partner un soutien ciblé sur divers aspects, notamment l’identification et le travail sur les éventuels doutes qui pourraient survenir, sur les incertitudes et les éléments perçus comme des obstacles, la prise en compte des attentes et objectifs personnels et les exigences à remplir pour passer à l’étape suivante de leur carrière. Nous souhaitons révéler, activer et mobiliser leurs ressources et leurs forces. Il s’agit d’accompagner leur développement personnel et professionnel et de leur fournir un soutien pour la gestion de problèmes concrets. Nous mettons en œuvre ces mesures en coopération avec des psychologues et des coaches, au moyen de diagnostics, d’Executive Coachings et d’ateliers.

Female Partners

Female Partners in Full Service Law Firms

Wir haben uns verpflichtet, sicherzustellen, dass Frauen auf allen Ebenen der Kanzlei vertreten sind und unterstützt werden. Derzeit sind wir die führende Full-Service-Kanzlei in der Schweiz mit dem höchsten Anteil an weiblichen Partnern.

Travail pro bono

Bär & Karrer et ses collaborateurs assument leur responsabilité sociale de diverses manières. Que ce soit à titre personnel ou à l’échelle de l’étude, nous nous engageons en faveur d’organisations d’utilité publique ou à but non lucratif, et poursuivons une longue tradition en matière de prestations juridiques fournies pro bono pour de bonnes causes. Voici quelques exemples de ces activités.

  • Room to Read

    Bär & Karrer soutient Room to Read depuis des années. L’organisation a pour but de transformer les vies de millions d’enfants dans des communautés à faible revenu en se concentrant sur l’alphabétisation et l’égalité entre sexes dans l’éducation. En collaboration avec les communautés locales, ses organisations partenaires et les autorités, la fondation aide à améliorer les compétences de lecture et d’écriture et à donner aux enfants de l’école primaire l’habitude de lire. Elle aide également les filles à achever l’école secondaire afin qu’elles puissent acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour réussir dans leurs études et dans leur vie en général. Par notre soutien, nous espérons contribuer à une meilleure éducation pour les enfants, tout particulièrement les filles.

  • Jerusalem Foundation

    La Jerusalem Foundation a pour but de rassembler la population diversifiée de la ville de Jérusalem par des projets principalement axés sur l’éducation et la culture, avec également un fort accent sur l’amélioration des opportunités de carrière pour les filles et les femmes au travers de l’éducation scolaire et universitaire, ainsi que l’intégration sur le marché du travail pour les jeunes professionnels et les femmes âgées. L’une de nos Partners fait partie du comité régional suisse de la Jerusalem Foundation.

  • Menschen für Menschen

    L’une de nos Partners, membre de notre comité exécutif, siège au conseil de la fondation Menschen für Menschen Suisse, dont les activités comprennent des formations professionnelles pour les femmes en Éthiopie dans le but de leur permettre de subvenir à leurs besoins.

  • Weizmann Institute of Science

    Les scientifiques de l’Institut Weizmann des Sciences ont développé de nouveaux moyens pour lutter contre la maladie et la faim tout en protégeant l’environnement et en exploitant des sources d’énergie alternatives. L’un de nos Partners siège au conseil exécutif de l’Institut Weizmann et préside la société suisse des amis de l’Institut. Il a également joué un rôle important dans la levée de fonds pour l’institut de recherche en prévention du cancer de cette même société auprès du Moross Integrated Cancer Center.

Rôle croissant des femmes dans l’étude

Pourcentage de Partners femmes chez Bär & Karrer au cours des dernières années