default

Diversity & Inclusion in our Workforce

A diverse and inclusive working environment composed of colleagues from various backgrounds is an important success factor for Bär & Karrer. We are firmly committed to fostering an open and tolerant culture that empowers everyone at Bär & Karrer to be themselves at work and brings out the best from everyone. We see it as our social responsibility to promote and focus on the topic of D&I.

Our hiring process is focusing on attracting and retaining the best talents regardless of gender, race, origin, language, age, sexual orientation or religious belief.

We strive for a balanced workforce and a working attitude where collaboration is key. The entire Bär & Karrer team embraces our diversity and inclusion journey.

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

Actions speak louder than words

0
Employees
0
Lawyers
0
% of our employees are women
0
% in our extended executive board are women
0
average age
0
% of our women are in a leading position
0
% of our employees working part-time
0
employees who are physically challenged

Diversity is Key

Client need

D&I is needed to best meet the different client needs in order to speak the same language.

Employer attractiveness

Satisfied employees remain loyal to the company.

Diversity is diverse

Diversity has many aspects. It is not only about gender.

innovation

Diverse teams are highly engaged and deliver innovative solutions.

  • In-house childcare facility

    Bär & Karrer offers an in-house childcare facility where our employees benefit from favourable conditions to support balancing family and career. Furthermore, Bär & Karrer is a member of profawo whose consultancy on topics such as guidance for young parents, childcare or placement of nannies is free of charge for staff members.

  • Parental Leave Program

    We are granting paid paternity leave of a total of 15 working days. Expectant mothers are entitled to go on leave four weeks prior to the calculated date of childbirth. The purpose of this leave is to ease the burden during the last month of pregnancy. We would like our female employees to remain employed with us after childbirth. Employees who worked for Bär & Karrer for at least two years prior to childbirth and who undertake to continue to work for us after their maternity leave for at least another two years are entitled to additional benefits beyond the statutory minimum.

  • Friendly Workspace

    Friendly Work Space sets the Swiss quality standard for systematically implemented company health management (BGM). We are very pleased to have achieved this label.

  • Flexible working

    The compatibility of work and family requires flexible working time models. This way we can ensure that women and also men can reconcile their legal profession with parenthood in the long term. However, working part-time does not mean that your career ends up on the sidelines and therefore isn't an obstacle to being promoted. Home office is another important component of working time flexibilization at Bär & Karrer and gives our employees more flexibility in organizing their day.

Female Leadership

  • D&I Network

    Launched in 2009 as a women's network, it initially included meetings and lunches for female lawyers at different stages of their career at Bär & Karrer to network, provide career advice and obtain feedback. Today, the network is open to everyone at Bär & Karrer and has shifted its focus to diversity and inclusion in the broader sense.

  • Advance Member

    Bär & Karrer is a member of "Advance – Gender Equality in Business", an association of close to 100 Swiss-based companies with the mission to achieve a balanced gender mix at all levels of an organization on an ongoing basis.

  • Female Leadership Program

    The goal of our Female Leadership Program is to offer high-performing women with the potential to take on the role of partner targeted support in various aspects, such as recognizing and eliminating doubts, uncertainties and personally perceived hurdles, addressing personal aspirations as well as the necessary requirements for the next career step. We want to uncover, activate and use their own resources and strengths. It is about accompanying personality and career development as well as supporting the processing of concrete concerns. We carry out these measures in cooperation with psychologists and coaches and work with diagnostics, executive coachings and workshops.

Female Partners

Female Partners in Full Service Law Firms

We have committed to ensuring that women are represented and supported at all levels of the Firm. Currently, we are the leading full service law firm in Switzerland which has the hightest percentage female partners.

Pro Bono Work

Bär & Karrer and its employees live up to their social responsibility in various ways. In particular, we have numerous personal and firm-wide engagements for charitable or not-for-profit organizations, as well as a long-standing tradition of providing our legal services on a case-by-case basis free of charge – i.e. pro bono – if it serves a good cause. Below are just some of the activities.

  • Room to Read

    Bär & Karrer has been supporting Room to Read for many years. They seek to transform the lives of millions of children in low-income communities by focusing on literacy and gender equality in education. Working in collaboration with local communities, partner organizations and governments, the foundation aids in developing literacy skills and in implementing the habit of reading among primary school children, and supports girls to complete secondary school to learn skills that are essential to succeed in further education and life. With our support we hope to contribute to better education for children, and for girls in particular.

  • Jerusalem Foundation

    The Jerusalem Foundation aims to bring the diverse population of the city of Jerusalem closer together through various projects mainly in the education and culture sector, also with a strong focus of enhancing career opportunities for girls and women through school and university education but also by supporting the integration on the labor market for young professionals and older women. One of our female partners is a member of the Swiss regional board of the Jerusalem Foundation.

  • Menschen für Menschen

    One of our female partners and member of our executive committee serves on the Board of Menschen für Menschen Switzerland, a foundation that amongst others runs vocational trainings for women in Ethiopia, giving them the opportunity to make a living for themselves.

  • Weizmann Institute of Science

    The Weizmann Institute scientists have developed new ways of fighting disease and hunger, protecting the environment and harnessing alternative energy solutions. One of our partners serves on the Weizmann Institute’s Executive Board and as Chair of the Swiss Society of Friends of the Institute. He has also played a prominent role in raising support for the Swiss Society Institute for Cancer Prevention Research at the Moross Integrated Cancer Center.

Ongoing Empowerment of Women in Partnership

Percentage of Female Partners at Bär & Karrer in recent years

default

Diversity & Inclusion

Ein vielfältiges und integratives Arbeitsumfeld, das sich aus Kolleginnen und Kollegen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund zusammensetzt, ist ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor für Bär & Karrer. Wir sind fest entschlossen, eine offene und tolerante Kultur zu fördern, die jeden bei Bär & Karrer befähigt, bei der Arbeit sich selbst zu sein und das Beste aus sich herauszuholen. Warum? Weil wir glauben, dass vielfältige Teams innovativere Lösungen und bessere Leistungen erbringen. Wir sehen es auch als unsere gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, das Thema D&I zu fördern und in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen.

Unser Rekrutierungsverfahren ist darauf ausgerichtet, die besten Talente zu gewinnen und zu halten, unabhängig von deren Geschlecht, Rasse, Herkunft, Sprache, Alter, sexueller Orientierung oder religiöser Überzeugung.

Wir streben eine ausgewogene Belegschaft und eine Arbeitseinstellung an, bei der die Zusammenarbeit im Vordergrund steht. Das gesamte Team von Bär & Karrer setzt sich für Diversity & Inclusion ein.

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

I am proud that, for many years, Bär & Karrer has been a workplace where people of different cultural and personal backgrounds find themselves at home.

Daniel Hochstrasser, Senior Partner Bär & Karrer

Taten sagen mehr als Worte

0
Mitarbeitende
0
Anwälte
0
% unserer Mitarbeitenden sind weiblich
0
% unserer erweiterten Geschäftsleitung sind weiblich
0
Durchschnittsalter
0
% unserer weiblichen Mitarbeitenden haben eine Führungsposition
0
% unserer Mitarbeitenden arbeiten Teilzeit
0
Mitarbeiter mit einer physischen Beeinträchtigung

Diversität ist vielseitig

Kundenbedarf

D&I IST ERFORDERLICH, UM DEN VERSCHIEDENEN KUNDENBEDÜRFNISSEN AM BESTEN GERECHT ZU WERDEN, DAMIT WIR DIE GLEICHE SPRACHE SPRECHEN.

ARBEITGEBERATTRAKTIVITÄT

ZUFRIEDENE MITARBEITER BLEIBEN DEM UNTERNEHMEN TREU.

DIVERSITY IST VIELFÄLTIG

DIVERSITY HAT VERSCHIEDENE ASPEKTE. ES GEHT NICHT NUR UM DAS GESCHLECHT.

Innovation

VIELFÄLTIGE TEAMS SIND HOCH ENGAGIERT UND LIEFERN INNOVATIVE LÖSUNGEN.

  • Interne Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung

    Bär & Karrer bietet eine betriebseigene Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung an, in der unsere Mitarbeitenden von günstigen Konditionen für die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf profitieren. Bär & Karrer ist zudem Mitglied von profawo, dessen Beratung zu Themen wie Kinderbetreuung oder Vermittlung von Kindermädchen für die Mitarbeitenden kostenlos ist.

  • Elternzeit-Programm

    Wir gewähren einen bezahlten Vaterschaftsurlaub von insgesamt 15 Arbeitstagen. Werdende Mütter haben Anspruch auf einen Urlaub von vier Wochen vor ihrem errechneten Geburtstermin. Ziel dieses Urlaubs ist es, die Belastung im letzten Monat der Schwangerschaft zu verringern. Wir möchten, dass unsere Mitarbeiterinnen auch nach der Geburt ihres Kindes bei uns im Unternehmen tätig bleiben. Arbeitnehmerinnen, die vor der Geburt ihres Kindes mindestens zwei Jahre bei Bär & Karrer gearbeitet haben und sich verpflichten, nach dem Mutterschaftsurlaub weiterhin bei uns zu arbeiten, haben Anspruch auf zusätzliche Leistungen, die über das gesetzliche Minimum hinausgehen.

  • Friendly Workspace

    Friendly Work Space setzt den Schweizer Qualitätsstandard für systematisch umgesetztes betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement (BGM). Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir dieses Label erhalten haben.

  • Flexibles Arbeiten

    Die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie erfordert flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle. So können wir sicherstellen, dass Frauen und auch Männer langfristig ihren Anwaltsberuf mit der Elternschaft vereinbaren können. Teilzeitarbeit bedeutet aber nicht, dass die Karriere auf der Strecke bleibt und ist somit kein Hindernis für eine Beförderung und Weiterentwicklung. Homeoffice ist ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil der Arbeitszeitflexibilisierung bei Bär & Karrer und ermöglicht unseren Mitarbeitenden mehr Flexibilität in ihrer Tagesgestaltung.

Frauen in Führungspositionen

  • D&I Network

    Das D&I Network wurde im Jahr 2009 als Frauennetzwerk ins Leben gerufen und umfasste zunächst Treffen und Mittagessen für Juristinnen in verschiedenen Stadien ihrer Karriere bei Bär & Karrer, um sich zu vernetzen, sich gegenseitig Karrieretipps zu geben und Feedback einzuholen. Heute steht das Netzwerk allen Mitarbeitenden von Bär & Karrer offen und hat seinen Fokus auf Diversität und Inklusion im weiteren Sinne verlagert.

  • Advance

    Bär & Karrer ist Mitglied von "Advance - Gender Equality in Business", einem Zusammenschluss von knapp 100 Schweizer Unternehmen, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt haben, dauerhaft ein ausgewogenes Geschlechterverhältnis auf allen Ebenen einer Organisation zu erreichen.

  • Female Leadership Program

    Ziel unseres Female Leadership Program ist es, leistungsstarken Frauen mit dem Potenzial, die Rolle der Partnerin zu übernehmen, gezielte Unterstützung in verschiedenen Aspekten zu bieten, wie z.B. dem Erkennen und Beseitigen von Zweifeln, Unsicherheiten und persönlich empfundenen Hürden, der Auseinandersetzung mit persönlichen Wünschen sowie den notwendigen Voraussetzungen für den nächsten Karriereschritt. Wir wollen die eigenen Ressourcen und Stärken aufdecken, aktivieren und nutzen. Es geht um die Begleitung der Persönlichkeits- und Karriereentwicklung sowie um die Unterstützung bei der Bearbeitung konkreter Anliegen. Wir führen diese Massnahmen in Kooperation mit Psychologen und Coaches durch und arbeiten mit Diagnostik, Executive Coachings und Workshops.

Weibliche Partner

Weibliche Partner in Full-Service-Kanzleien

Wir haben uns verpflichtet, sicherzustellen, dass Frauen auf allen Ebenen der Kanzlei vertreten sind und unterstützt werden. Derzeit sind wir die führende Full-Service-Kanzlei in der Schweiz mit dem höchsten Anteil an weiblichen Partnern.

Pro Bono Arbeit

Bär & Karrer und ihre Mitarbeitenden nehmen ihre soziale Verantwortung auf vielfältige Weise wahr. Insbesondere gibt es zahlreiche persönliche und kanzleiweite Engagements für gemeinnützige oder nicht gewinnorientierte Organisationen sowie eine langjährige Tradition, unsere juristischen Dienstleistungen von Fall zu Fall unentgeltlich - also pro bono - zu erbringen, wenn sie einem guten Zweck dienen. Im Folgenden sind nur einige der Aktivitäten aufgeführt.

  • Room to Read

    Bär & Karrer unterstützt Room to Read bereits seit vielen Jahren. Die Stiftung versucht, das Leben von Millionen von Kindern in einkommensschwachen Gemeinden zu verändern, indem sie sich auf die Alphabetisierung und die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in der Bildung konzentriert. In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Gemeinschaften, Partnerorganisationen und Regierungen hilft die Stiftung bei der Entwicklung von Lese- und Schreibfähigkeiten und bei der Einführung der Lesegewohnheit bei Grundschulkindern und unterstützt Mädchen dabei, die Sekundarschule abzuschliessen, um Fähigkeiten zu erlernen, die für den Erfolg in der weiteren Ausbildung und im Leben unerlässlich sind. Wir hoffen, dass wir mit unserer Unterstützung zu einer besseren Bildung für Kinder und insbesondere für Mädchen beitragen können.

  • Jerusalem Foundation

    Die Jerusalem Foundation zielt darauf ab, die vielfältige Bevölkerung der Stadt Jerusalem durch verschiedene Projekte, vor allem im Bildungs- und Kulturbereich, einander näher zu bringen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Verbesserung der Karrierechancen für Mädchen und Frauen durch Schul- und Universitätsausbildung, aber auch durch die Unterstützung der Integration junger Fachkräfte und älterer Frauen in den Arbeitsmarkt. Eine unserer Partnerinnen ist Mitglied des Schweizer Regionalvorstands der Jerusalem Foundation.

  • Menschen für Menschen

    Eine unserer Partnerinnen ist Mitglied des Vorstands von Menschen für Menschen Schweiz, einer Stiftung, die unter anderem Berufsausbildungen für Frauen in Äthiopien durchführt und ihnen die Möglichkeit gibt, ihren Lebensunterhalt selbst zu verdienen.

  • Weizmann Institut für Wissenschaft

    Die Wissenschaftler des Weizmann Instituts haben neue Wege zur Bekämpfung von Krankheiten und Hunger, zum Schutz der Umwelt und zur Nutzung alternativer Energielösungen entwickelt. Einer unserer Partner ist Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung des Weizmann Instituts und Vorsitzender der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft der Freunde des Instituts. Er hat auch eine wichtige Rolle bei der Unterstützung des Instituts für Krebspräventionsforschung der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft am Integrierten Krebszentrum Moross gespielt.

Kontinuierliche Stärkung der Frauen in der Partnerschaft

Prozentualer Anteil weiblicher Partner bei Bär & Karrer in den letzten Jahren